canada regions provinces territories

Canada Regions- Provinces and Territories

Canada is the second largest country in the world with an area of ten million square kilometers.
The national capital is Ottawa. Canada’s boarders are oceans on three sides and the United States of America in the south. The oceans are Pacific ocean in the west, atlantic ocean in the east and the arctic ocean in the north.

Canada includes different geographical areas and five distinct regions. Canada has ten provinces and three terriotories. The five regions of Canada are The Atlantic provinces, Central Canada, The Prairie provinces, The West Coast and The Northern Territories.

Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and the Prince Edward Island are known as the Atlantic provinces. Each province has its own capital city. Fishing, farming, forestry and mining are the main activities.

The provinces Ontario and Quebec are known as Central Canada. More than half the people in Canada live here. This region produce more than three quarters of all the manufactured goods in Canada.Central Canada is known as the industrial heart land. The Canadian part of the world famous Niagara waterfall is situated in ontario.

Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta are known as the Prairie provinces. This region is rich in energy resources and consists of fertile farmlands.

The west coast consists of the province British Columbia. British Columbia is famous for its majestic mountains and also known as Canada’s pacific gateway. The port of Vancouver is the largest and busiest port in Canada.

Yukon Territory, Northwest territories and Nunavut are known as the Northern territories. This region occupies one third of Canada’s land. There are Gold, diamond, copper, zinc and lead mines are here. Hunting and fishing are other activities. This region is known as the land of midnight sun.